Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Official Home of Mars Hill Lion Athletics

Seniors honored in thrilling season finale

Seniors honored in thrilling season finale

MARS HILL, N.C. - The Mars Hill men's lacrosse team (3-12, 0-8 SAC) fell in overtime versus Newberry (10-5, 4-4 SAC) by a score of 18-17 to wrap up the 2019 season Saturday afternoon inside the Ammons Family Athletic Center and Meares Stadium.

Mars Hill entered the fourth quarter down 14-10, but outscored Newberry 7-3 to force the overtime frame.  Following Cole Bates' goal to open the frame, the Lions reeled off five of the next six goals to pull within one goal.  Trailing by two, Parker Beaudry struck twice in the final 1:52 to force the overtime frame.

Newberry's Jeremy Ross, 2:17 into the overtime period, scored his second goal of the game to give the Wolves the win.

Anthony Farmer opened the scoring for Mars Hill just 38 seconds into the first quarter with his first goal of the season.  After trading goals to go 2-2, Mars Hill scored three of the next four to go up 5-3 with 3:03 left in the stanza.  Beaudry netted two goals in that span.

With the Lions leading 7-5 in the second, the Wolves struck four times in a row to take their first lead of the game with 7:01 left in the first half.  Just as he did in the first frame, Stone Boone scored twice for Newberry.

Newberry once again outscored Mars Hill by a mark of 5-2 in the third.  Mars Hill scored their two goals in the first 1:50 of the frame before the Wolves scored five straight to go up by four entering the final 15 minutes of regulation.

Brady Keenan led all players with eight points (2g, 6a) while Boone ended the contest with six (5g, 1a).  Jake Trafton collected five points (3g, 2a) to end his Mars Hill career with 99 points.  Zac Carrigan added five points as well, scoring twice and assisting on three goals.  Both Beaudry and Tremain Hill scored four goals apiece.

Prior to the start of the contest, Mars Hill recognized Chase Pretti-Pearsall, Jake Trafton, Josh Bryers, Kyle Dozzi, McKenzie Shubert, Elijah Byrdsell and Anthony Farmer during their Senior Day celebration.